Monday’s – Make them Great!

Monday – How would you describe your Monday experiences on a weekly basis?  Good, bad, or indifferent?  There are a number of people who wake up on Monday’s and dread the experience of having their weekend to disappear.  You may know the people who come into work every Monday and talk about how short their weekend was or how they cannot stand Monday’s.  They may go on to explain how they cannot believe that they had to come into work today and wish that they were still home in their bed, on vacation, or maybe they should have just called out as being sick! 

This may be your co-worker or it may be you.  How do you look at your Monday’s?  Are they days for opportunity or days for doing as little as possible?  Part of my background was in sales.  Monday’s were interesting.  I saw people who had the same thoughts as I have written above.  I even had some of those days.  Then I realized that if I started my week off really well, it made the rest of the week easier.  If you make sales or schedule appointments on Monday, your week has more of a feeling of an accomplishment.

For instance, I would set my goals on Sunday evenings or Sunday mornings.  I would take only 15 minutes to gather my thoughts for the week so I would not interfere with my weekend.  By doing so, on Monday mornings, I would come to work and know exactly what my goals were for the week and I would not have to stumble around for hours before getting started.  In sales, the hardest thing to do is to pick up the phone to make appointments or call a client.  People would put it off and wait until later on to get their act together.  

Make Monday’s great!  If you are in sales, set your goals on Sunday for only 15 minutes to get your week started on Monday when you get into work.  If you do, your week and your month will become better weeks and months.  Even if you are not in sales, you can set the same goals.  Fifteen minutes…that is what you need.  Write it out and open it up on Monday mornings to have a better day.  You will be more focused and alert and you can get started right away.

Have a Great Monday!

Charles

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

